Most consecutive losses in IPL by a team – year wise

The fact that the Mumbai Indians are off to their poorest start to a season ever is the topic that has generated the most discussion thus far during the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The most successful team has failed to win any of their first eight matches, with their most recent defeat occurring on Sunday against Lucknow Super Giants. If you are an online cricket betting enthusiast feel free to check one of India’s top bookmakers, Exchmarket. A punter would find anything to everything that he or she requires on this bookmaker site.

Mumbai Indians (8) – 2022

KL Rahul scored his second hundred of the IPL 2022 but Rohit Sharma and the rest of his team suffered a defeat by 36 runs against the Lucknow Super Giants, who were making their IPL debut. It should be noted that both of Rahul’s tons in the IPL 2022 were scored against the Mumbai Indians. As a result, the five-time winners have gotten off to the worst start possible for an Indian Premier League season. Apart from that, if you are into betting or if you are interested in trying your luck on various sports such as cricket betting, football, and hockey, visit the Betpro.

Delhi Daredevils (6) – 2013

But the eight straight losses suffered by Mumbai Indian is not the greatest losing skid in IPL history. To set the record straight, the Delhi Capitals, in their previous incarnation as the Daredevils, set a new record in 2013 by being the first team to lose its first six matches in a single season. This record was later matched by the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2019.

These losing streaks are nothing to brag about in comparison to what three other teams have accomplished throughout the course of an Indian Premier League season. The following teams have endured one of the longest losing streaks in IPL history. Betpro Exch is online betting site in Pakistan. It has listed a few of the best betting sites which are highly active in Pakistan.

Kolkata Knight Riders (9) – 2009

In the second season of the Indian Premier League, which took place in South Africa and began in 2009, the Kolkata Knight Riders were victorious in only one of their nine matches. In the eight-team competition, the side captained by Brendon McCullum and winning just three of their 14 total matches was good for eighth place. Rain caused the cancellation of one match, which was played against Chennai Super Kings.

Pune Warriors India (9, twice) – 2012

They participated in all three seasons of the Indian Premier League but were unable to make a significant impact in any of those seasons. Pune Warriors were able to replicate KKR’s nine-match losing skid in both their second and third seasons as a franchise. During the 2012 season, Sourav Ganguly succeeded Yuvraj Singh, who was battling cancer at the time, as the team’s captain. However, Ganguly was eventually relieved of his duties as a result of the team’s poor performance. They finished last in the nine-team league with a record of four wins out of a total of 16 matches played.

Although Angelo Mathews took over as captain to start the 2013 season, the team’s performance did not improve. During the course of a Mary-go-round for the captaincy, the all-rounder from Sri Lanka was replaced by Ross Taylor, and the cricketer from New Zealand was replaced by Aaron Finch. They finished with four wins out of 16 matches, however, they escaped getting the wooden spoon since Delhi Daredevils won three of their matches.

Delhi Capitals/Daredevils (9) – 2014

 After finishing in last place in the previous season, the Delhi team started from scratch when putting together their squad and did not retain any of their prior players. The team led by JP Duminy was unsuccessful in all but two of its 14 matches, and they were unsuccessful in all nine of their final matchups. Their two victories tied the record for the fewest wins in a season, which was held jointly by Deccan Chargers in the first edition of the competition. During that season, the Chargers went winless for seven consecutive matches.

Punjab Kings (7) – 2015

Additionally, the Punjab Kings (Kings XI Punjab) experienced a losing streak of seven matches in 2015, while the Delhi Capitals saw two losing streaks of six matches in 2013. In 2017, Royal Challengers Bangalore suffered a losing streak of six matches in a row.